Posted in humor, life

I was wrong about toddlers

I have worked with children of all ages in variety of capacities and environments so needless to say, I think I am pretty qualified to “wrangle” them in. I love kids and what I love more is giving them back to their parents, especially when they start freaking out. Last weekend however, there were no parents to turn to as I was on my own with a 7 year-old and a 1 year-old toddler.

Go to the arcade, their parents said. It will be fun, they said. Look I am always up for a challenge and considering my cousin was expecting her third child any day I figured I would take her adventurous brood of her hands for a few hours, I mean how hard could it be?

They call the 1 year-old, my godchild, “the beast.” Hey, there’s nothing wrong with that! He’s a tough, curious kid that’s too big for the little baby categorized world he is currently living in; so I thought.

toddler

Once at the arcade aka bouncy house hell aka a place for many accidents to occur, both kids hit the ground running, literally! The older one wanted coins to play games (how the heck did my parents survive my Chuck E. Cheese days!), the younger one wanted to raise some hell. Which one do I give the most attention to first? When do they eat? Will I ever be able to go the bathroom and if so, how does that all work out?

Three hours later, I was exhausted.

Kudos to all the parents, grandparents, nannies and guardians out there getting this done. You deserve a medal. In the meantime, I’m just going push this whole “kids” thing back another few years!

 

Leave a Reply

