Posted in inspiration, life

A Piece of Inspiration

I remember during my high school days when those Tifanny heart chained necklaces were all the rage. Did it portray wealth? Being on trend? That you were spoiled by your parents? Nevertheless, it was the accessory to have back in the early OO’s. I was never one of those girls though and to this day, I’m still not. Don’t get me wrong, I love accessories and I’m pretty sure I have inherited my grandmother’s compulsive behavior of having to have that purse or that ring when I see it but it’s not about how it looks, it’s how it makes me feel.

In a previous blog, I talked about coming into my own at 30 years old and really finding out who I am. I often find myself feeling empowered by the stories of others and how I can make some small change in the world. About two years ago I stumbled across a small non-profit now small business that embodied my love for jewelry and my desire for hope, kindness and change, it was called The Shine Project. I encourage you to read their backstory but the short of it is that the founder Ashley LeMieux started a scholarship project to help send inner city youth to college. As the organization grew, Ashley taught herself how to make bracelets and began employing inner city students. It didn’t take me long to fall in love with this organization and quickly ordered a necklace that has become a staple in my daily wardrobe.

Feeling inspired by wearing a piece of jewelry with a story and a purpose, I magically found through Instagram, another similar organization called The Giving Keys that employs those transitioning out of homelessness in Los Angeles to make key necklaces and other jewelry out of repurposed keys. Again, how could one not want to get involved in such an empowering project? I am happy to say that I have purchased 5 keys and given away 4 over the last year with the recipients completely enthused about the idea behind it.

What inspired me to write this blog today? The necklace around my neck and the bracelet on my wrist. They serve as a constant reminder that everyday we should all think about how we can make change and empower everyone around us. It’s not about looking good but feeling REALLY good!

Leave a Reply

