Posted in life, women

So About That 1/3 of Your Life…

A few months ago, something strange happened. It came upon me quicker than anticipated and left behind a monumental moment of realization – 1/3 of my life has already been completed.

That’s right, I officially entered the “dirty 30” club and there is no turning back. I didn’t anticipate the impact that the big 3-0 would have on my current outlook on life but it did and with good reason.

30

There is a lot of pressure on women when they enter this age. Questions arise about weddings, babies and the purchasing of a new home; all of which I don’t nor desire to have – well, a big house would be nice 😉 Aside from these stereotypical pressures, I truly believe 30 has provided me with a new sense of empowerment and fierceness that I never once had as a bright-eyed 20-something. It is an amazing feeling to know you have come into your own and have paved your own path.

The word to highlight here is “own.”

I have entered 30 the way I wanted to and for the first time I feel so confident in the woman I have become. I’ve learned to evaluate and know my worth while cutting away those who no longer fit into this mindset. I have taken more risks, I guess you could say educated risks, now that I have the knowledge and experiences of what got me to this point. Most importantly, I have learned to balance being selfless and selfish. In my 20’s, I was always selfless, which is not a bad character trait to have but at times would take my full focus off of myself. I put the needs, dreams and desires of others before my own and it really took its toll. Being a bit selfish has helped me change gears and devote more energy into my own mental and physical well-being. It’s like they say, you have to put on your own oxygen mask before you are able to help others.

Regardless of the 3 and 0 and the expectations that come with it, I am more appreciative of life than I ever was before. Maybe one day I’ll have what everyone thinks I should but it will be on my terms, no matter what age because I’m still Kristin and have 2/3 more of life to live.

2 thoughts on “So About That 1/3 of Your Life…

Leave a Reply

