Posted in life, thoughts

Hey There Face. Night To Meet You!

So before I get started into the details of this posting, I want to emphasize that I wasn’t capitalizing on all those cool and trendy “Cosmo” articles about not wearing makeup for a week or how dressing like Kim Kardashian made my life change. This is not about that, it’s more about identifying what really makes you, well, you.

Pile-of-Makeup

Over the last two weeks, I have been off from work to take some much needed vacation time, without a vacation plan. I mean a mental break is definitely great but when you don’t have much to do, it can be hellish. I do think though, this was the first break from work I have taken in a while where I was able to sit back, relax, and not stress about where to be or how much money I was spending. I went to the gym, caught up with some friends, and did day trips to the beach. During this time, I actually stopped caring what I looked like.

As much as we all say “I really don’t care what people think of me or how I look,” we definitely do. We take some extra time to brush our hair, wear a shirt that isn’t covered in stains (usually) and apply some makeup so we can actually face the world. Well during my break, I did 2 out of the 3. I wasn’t really slaving over my hair and definitely had no desire to put makeup on. About a week in, I caught myself in the mirror and was a little taken back at how I looked. This was actually the first time in a while that I saw myself without any leftover makeup-because let’s be serious-as much as we wash and wipe it off our faces, there is always some left overs or at least your face does not look completely blank! Here I was though, skin exposed and eyes not lined, who was this chick? I’m not saying I prefer myself without makeup but it was definitely interesting to see who I really am underneath it all. Sometimes we need to take some time for ourselves, slow down, and identify who we are both on the surface and internally.

As I sit at my desk to close out this post, I’m wearing my usual makeup and feel pretty good about it. But there is a makeup free “selfie” in my phone that I pull out every now and then to remember the girl behind it all.

Leave a Reply

