Posted in life, thoughts

Dear 18-Year-Old Self,

reunion

With my ten year high school reunion closing in on me, it’s more fitting now than ever before to give my 18-year-old self some advice. So here’s to the high school senior in 2004 with the bad dye job, an unhealthy collection of sweatpants, too sarcastic for her own good, and going through the motions of her last year of adolescence: 

Invest In Good Friendships

I always knew deep down who my friends would continue to be beyond high school but for some reason I clung to the idea of quantity over quality.

To My 18-Year-Old Self: Stop investing your time with people who don’t matter! When the summer before college comes to a close, so will most of the relationships you currently have. Hold tight to the ones that support and encourage you and make the effort to be there for you!

Broaden Your Horizons

My senior year of high school consisted of work, friends, sports, and school and that was about it. 

To My 18-Year-Old Self: Get involved in other experiences; travel, volunteer, meet new people…do things that will give you more joy in life. Also, take some chances, especially when it comes to college. Apply to schools that are outside of your comfort zone, meaning your home state. You won’t regret it!

Enjoy Being Young

Although I very much felt like an 18 year old, I was in such a rush to start my adult life. 

To My 18-Year-Old Self: This is the last time in your life where responsibility will be low, take some time to enjoy it! You don’t have to work every single shift because your stressed about money. Take some days off and focus on you!

Step Out Of The Box

I wouldn’t say I was a follower in high school but didn’t stray too far from the ways of the people around me.

To My 18-Year-Old Self: Be an individual and do the things that you want to do. This is your time to not only make an impression on the people you are about to say goodbye to but you are also breaking free from what has held you back. 

Well there it is! I wonder if in 10 years I’ll write a letter to my 28-year-old self and say that I had it either all right or wrong the whole time!

 

Leave a Reply

