Posted in health & fitness, running

Meet Me Halfway

At 4:45 a.m. most weekday mornings, you will hear me yelling expletives at the sound of a blaring alarm clock. The sanctuary of a warm, comfortable bed shielding me from the cold New England mornings is the one thing that is difficult to leave. With one blurry eye open, I shut off the alarm and stagger out of bed to get my gym clothes on. Although it may sound dramatic, I know that the only way I’ll get any training in is to go early and get it over with. 

Monday morning was one of those mornings but it also marked the halfway point of half marathon training. Yes, that is 22 days of running (training calls for 4 runs/week) and 85 miles to date. 

To say that I am sick of running is an understatement!

A half marathon has always been a distant (no pun intended) goal of mine that I somewhat hoped to achieve but it wasn’t a huge priority. Although I had been running all along, my distance never exceed more than eight miles and I never committed to any race that was longer than a 10K. The mental part of the training is not what I had expected; is the run over yet? Am I eating enough? Am I eating too much? Am I losing muscle by all the running? I could sit on Google for hours trying to find the right answers to my questions but I’ve found it’s all about listening to your own body and finding what works for you. 

Image
Early morning runs in New England don’t look like this..sorry! But, hey, thanks Google!

I have been lucky enough to have a friend that is training for the same race and we get together to finish our long runs on Saturday mornings. It has been really great to have someone to help motivate you and also share your “disgust” for long distances. Most of our conversations consist of  “What mile are we on?” “That’s it?” “Holy hell!” Although the training has been hard and the weather hasn’t been great, the cause that we are running for keeps me going. The half marathon is the Run to Remember which raises money in tribute to fallen law enforcement officers for the city’s Kids at Risk programs, benefiting Boys & Girls Clubs and many other children’s nonprofits. I’m excited to participate in an amazing cause that will benefit those who help protect and serve the City of Boston. Yes, the training is hard. I have Plantar Fasciitis in both feet and have fallen flat on my face on the concrete. Through this journey I have learned that running is more mental than anything else and knowing that this is a health reward, an athletic goal, and personal accomplishment is what keeps me rolling out of bed each morning. With about six weeks left to go, I’m excited to see how far I can push myself  with the hope to finish strong on May 25!

Leave a Reply

