Posted in health & fitness

That Time I Ate Kale

I ADORE when celebrities are asked how they stay so fit and healthy all year round…NOT! Their responses: “I drink a lot of water, get plenty of sleep, and do yoga.” OK sure! I’ve done that before and I don’t look like J. Aniston. How about this answer: “I don’t have time to workout but I chase my kids around ALL day long which helps,” says the 110 pound actress looking fit and refreshed at her movie premiere.

Image By Google
Let’s spend $4.00 to read about how they drink water to lose weight!

 

I feel like all everyone talks about is food, food, food and which ones are the best for slimming down and keeping the weight off. I’ll admit it, I have been on health kicks before and try to maintain a healthy lifestyle but I made friggin Kale chips the other day because all the Fitness people on Facebook were preaching about it and I thought they were f**king disgusting! It all seemed to simple, some fresh kale (what the hell does that even look like), EVOO (whatever Rachael Ray), and garlic and onion powder. I popped it in the oven and waited to see how these new “healthy” chips would taste. I even felt like one of those “Whole Foods” people that do yoga and eat seaweed! Once they looked dry and close to death, I took them out, gave them a taste, let them sit on the counter for 20 minutes, and tossed them! 

What did I learn? You have to do what works for you. For the last couple of years on my quest to be fit (what is that really?) I did a number of different things including low calorie, low carb, reverse dieting, clean foods, and juicing (not Barry Bonds style). My body reacted differently than it did to others that had preached about the amazing changes they had seen. I feel like I have finally found some balance with what works and I’m not stressing out over the small stuff. What I’m saying is on your quest for a healthy life, do your own research and experiment with different things. There is no such thing as perfection but you can strive to be the best that you can be and yes, have a slice of pizza while you’re at it!

Leave a Reply

