Posted in 20somethings, life

Mid 20’s Crisis!

A midlife crisis is typically defined as someone that gets to the point of realization that their life is almost over and ultimately feel the need to change their personal goals and accomplish something soon. My question is does this type of crisis only exist in midlife? I believe that you experience similar thoughts when making your official transition into adulthood. I am not talking about the move from high school to college rather the time in your life when you have been out for a few years but still scramble to figure out who you are. 

If you haven’t experienced what I like to call a “mid-twenties crisis,” then you either have a sweet life plan laid out for you or haven’t experienced the strain of college loans and career moves. I remember when it first hit me that I was experiencing this and to be honest, feel at times, that I still am. I was standing by the copy machine a while back and started to think about what I was really doing with my life. Although I had a great job and good friends and family, I still felt that something was missing. “What is stopping you from picking up one day and living somewhere else?” I thought to myself. I’ve always had this feeling that I needed to do more with my life and even though I thrive on making conscious decisions, I needed to take a chance. I have had three jobs since college, well technically two professional ones, but always felt that I was ready for the next big thing. When you are this age, everything seems to go by so much slower and even the people around you seem to be your competition. Facebook posts and LinkedIn updates advertising all the great things everyone is doing can really put your life in perspective. What I have learned from my crisis is that this is a significant time in my life to take chances and really live, what most consider, the best time of my life. No, I won’t be running out to purchase a red Ferrari or receive a job offer as a vice president of a company but I will continue to stay hungry for more. I believe that is the outcome of feeling this way and although these thoughts will still enter my mind from time to time, I need to remember that I have so much time ahead of me to figure everything out.

Here’s looking to the future! 

One thought on “Mid 20’s Crisis!

  1. What you describe doesn’t just happen in the 20s but it’s probably the first time in this way. It’s not abnormal at all, even though social media might make it seem like so many people have found their niche and are happy and making lots of money, things aren’t always as they seem. “Here’s looking to the future!”

Leave a Reply

